In this article, we're going to explore how you can manage content and comments between everyone involved in your social media process while making sure users see exactly what they need.
Assigning membership to users
When you invite a user, besides their permissions, you need to assign them a membership: Team or Client/External member. This setting refers to which posts and comments users have access to.
Client/External members will only have access to posts made visible to everyone and the comments section, while team members will be able to see hidden drafts and internal notes as well.
Most often, team members are users involved in the creating process, while client/external members are those who review the content (that can be anyone from a manager, client, or external stakeholder)
Additionally, you can change a user's membership later on from the members' settings:
For each post, team members can choose whether they want it to be visible for everyone, including client/external members, or only visible to them internally. These are what we call internal/hidden posts.
This option is great for when you want to draft content or while your posts are still work in progress. It gives the content creator peace of mind to take their own time to edit the post, while anyone reviewing content knows they're only seeing the final version.
Users with team membership will see internal posts marked with a striped bar on top. When you're ready o make posts visible to everyone, simply click the eye icon.
You can also choose the default of all new posts from your workspace settings. If you prefer them to be internal or external:
In the comment section, there's a separate tab for internal notes, only visible to users that have a team membership. This will allow users to offer internal feedback and discuss posts behind the scenes, while all feedback from the reviewers will be seen in the comment section.
To access the internal notes, simply go to the comment section and click the "Internal note" tab, you'll notice it has a yellow background:
In the Internal notes, you can do everything you can in the comment section: tag users (only users with team membership), attach files, react or reply to notes.